Conservation, Lecture

National Geographic Live! Arizona

Live Lecture

I had the pleasure of going to the National Geographic live lecture at the Mesa Arts Center featuring Peter McBride.  Thanks to my employer I won an employee drawing for tickets in the orchestra section at the Mesa arts Center.  I invited my friend Tanya because of our shared passion for conservation.

My relationship with Tanya is the result of our love for outdoors and wildlife. Our friendship truly blossomed through our introduction to snowboarding class. She was the only person that I recognized from one of my zoology classes. I sat next to her and asked her if she wanted to be my carpool buddy. When she said yes, she didn’t know she was saying yes to years of friendship.

I won’t expand too much on my friendship with Tanya because I know she will come up again. I want to highlight this particular experience we shared together because of the conservation efforts of the National Geographic lecture.

Chasing Rivers

“The Colorado river has connected me to many things, many people, and many remarkable places” Pete McBride

This quote is a perfect example of my intentions of this blog. How does nature connect us with people and places?  Many people use the outdoors to escape and be alone. I use it to connect with people.

In this lecture Peter describes his travels, the people he met along the way, and how conservation has become such a large part of his life.  He highlighted his recent film Delta Dawn, which I was able to enjoy the 30 minute video last week at the Banff film festival. Having already been inspired the first time I saw at Delta Dawn, listening to Peter made it more personal. It made me think about my impact on the Earth with respect to water consumption.  He was speaking directly to us making an impact.

Humankindness Has No Intermission.

“Humankindness has not intermission.”  This was an ad on the back of our program and when I read it, it made me reflect on some words of a Native American who calls a small portion of the Colorado River near the Grand Canyon, home.  In the clip Peter asks him, “What do you think about all of these tourists coming around here?”  His response is, “There’s nothing I can do about it, but I hope you respect it.”  He was speaking of human kindness, to people and to the land.  I think of human kindness to the land as conservation.  How are we putting back into it what we are taking? The Colorado River is being depleted and it can’t keep up. “It shows what happens when you ask too much of a limited resource: It disappears,” Peter says. I’m not sure how I’ll do my part, but I hope that I can. In the picture below is Peter McBride asking for us to do our part.

Below you can see in the audience’s hands are the people that took out their phones and did their part

As Tanya and I walked out together, we thought about all of the things we could be doing.  How are we supporting conservation efforts?  We recently went Black-footed ferret spotlighting to support research for an endangered species.  What we are passionate about is wildlife and their habitats.  If habitats like the Colorado River are sucked dry then what will become of the wildlife.  My friendship with Tanya grew at this lecture because of a fire that was lit under our passion for conservation.

I’m looking forward to the next project Peter McBride has which entails a walk along the Grand Canyon, end to end totaling over 600 miles.

Till the next great adventure!

Cheers!

Maria

Leave a Reply

