Running, Trail Running

National Run Day

NRD

I have to admit, running is not my favorite activity to do. However I love for national run day! I began running in middle school because it was an activity to keep me busy after school. Then I kept running in high school because I wanted to eat whatever looked or tasted yummy, while still looking good. You don’t want to know how many times I ate a dollar menu burger before a track practice or meet. So I continued running and turned out some goals. Once a goal of finishing a race was checked off the list, I moved on to improving my times. The agony of having to lace up my shoes to pound my body into the ground was immeasurable. You’re probably sitting there asking, if you don’t like it why the heck do you do it?! 

So here’s the real reason why I run. I fell in love with the people of running. They are the reason why I wanted to keep coming out and keep getting better. Over the years I’ve began to love running because of the frienships I’ve forged. I didn’t run to make friends, I made friends because I ran.

If I made a list it would be too long to count.  Anytime we’ve run together is a time spent building a friendship. We shared a special bond through that hardship or enjoyment! 

November Project

Today is national run day. I made sure to get my morning fix to supplement my running by running stairs with November Project. I had a chance to congratulate our leader on her recent weekend win. It’s great to have such a motivating leader for these workouts.  Each time I go I get to know someone new and someone I’ve met before just a little bit deeper.  We hold each other accountable by saying, “see you next week.” 

 
Aravaipa 

I hadn’t planned on running a second time today. I was supposed to do a ladder swim. The turned and I got a message from my good friend Kelly in need of some RnR, run and relaxation.  

  
So I cancelled my swim and took time for her. I’m really glad I did. I was able to be there for my friend and get a run in.  I asked her what goals she’s setting and her goal is to be faster than the pace she estimated for Ragnar! I know she’ll get there.  My favorite thing about Kelly is that it doesn’t matter what she’s going through she still finds words of encouragement and motivation.  She’s going to kill 2015 😊.  

   

So why do I love National Run Day? Because it brings people together, close friends and strangers alike. We all have this crazy notion that running is awesome (well because it is). A gal sitting next to me says, “You know what I love about runners? They are the nicest people I’ve ever met.” True story, we want each other to succeed. 

“And we’ve become really good friends. I mean, I know we all secretly hope the other one will trip and fall on her face, and – wait a minute, I’ve already done that! And for me this experience has been one of the most rewarding and liberating experiences of my life.” Gracie Hart, Miss Congeniality

 View from outside a fence line in Papago Park 
What motivates you to run? 

Do you rely on others? 

What did you do to celebrate National Run day?!

Until the next great adventure!!

Cheers! Maria

Leave a Reply

